The power of fear

Re-reading Elizabeth Gilbert’s “Big Magic”. It didn’t really draw me in when I read it the first time – probably because I don’t consider myself “the creative type” – but it showed up on my library list of recommended e-books, so I borrowed it again. Today, I finally took some time to read (…in a hammock; on the beach – sorry, people up North….). Here is an excerpt from the passage that struck a chord:

“…. Fear is boring…. I finally realized that my fear was boring. … because it was the same thing every day. …I somehow figured out that my fear had no variety to it, no depth, no substance, no texture. I noticed that my fear never changed, never delighted, never offered a surprise twist or an unexpected ending. My fear was a song with only one note – only one word, actually – and that word was “STOP!”… I also realized that my fear was boring because it was identical to everyone else’s fear. I figured out that everyone’s song of fear has exactly the same tedious lyric: “STOP! STOP! STOP! STOP!” …My fear wasn’t some kind or rare artisanal object; it was just a mass-produced item, available on the shelves of any generic box store.”

…and now it makes perfect sense why I was feeling so discouraged a few days ago. I was listening to the fear song in my head. All I could hear was “STOP!” and it almost convinced me…

Leave a Reply

